Wednesday, 19 March 2008

Vera Baird ducks out of chance to vote against Post Office closures

Redcar MP, Vera Baird was not amongst the 19 Labour members who voted to halt the closure of 2500 post offices according to a report by the BBC. How strange that she was parading through Lazenby at the weekend supposedly campaigning against the closures?

UPDATE: Vera Baird voted with the Government in support of closing 2500 post offices.

The 19 Labour rebels:

Diane Abbott (Hackney North & Stoke Newington)
Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North)
John Cummings (Easington)
Andrew Dismore (Hendon)
David Drew (Stroud)
Frank Field (Birkenhead)
Paul Flynn (Newport West)
John Grogan (Selby)
Kate Hoey (Vauxhall)
Kelvin Hopkins (Luton North)
John McDonnell (Hayes & Harlington)
Eric Martlew (Carlisle)
Alan Meale (Mansfield)
Gordon Prentice (Pendle)
Alan Simpson (Nottingham South)
Geraldine Smith (Morecambe & Lunesdale)
Sir Peter Soulsby (Leicester South)
David Taylor (Leicestershire North West)
Mike Wood (Batley & Spen)
Independent Labour MP Robert Wareing (Liverpool West Derby) also voted with the Tories.

No comments: